Skip to content

Stupid Receptionists

August 4, 2009

You know, it’s hard enough being a journalist when all you have to do is do the research and write the damn articles. That alone would make the job difficult.

Then, the world had to create stupid receptionists that stand as an immovable barrier between you and your sources. When a journalist comes into contact with a stupid, shrill receptionist, you know youre in for one hell of a time.

I was just writing an article, and I needed a source who is the head of the particular center at UCLA that I am writing about, and really needed to get in touch with him for the story. So, yesterday, I called, and the idiot lady informed me that he was not there, I asked why, and she said that he was on jury duty. I asked her if she knew anyone else I could call…and she immediately became terse…and almost offended! Mind you, I asked her this in the kindest, most laid back tone I could muster, and she still seemed to be extremely put off.

I am under a tight deadline. But, because of her limited nature, I decided to wait an entire day to call back to try and get him again.

Today, I made the second call.

Oh. My. God. This woman flew off the handle at mach speed. “I told you yesterday he wasn’t here!” She actually yelled! “I am nobody, okay? I do not know these answers! I told you yesterday he wasn’t here, I have your number, I will call you, okay?”

“Yes, yes, ma’am, I understand. I don’t mean to pry, I understand you must be busy,” — YEAH RIGHT, what does she do all day, sit in a chair and answer a phone? — “but is there anyone else you could direct me to that could help?”

Sounds harmless enough, right?

“Why are you asking me this? I only know my boss! I don’t know anyone else! I told you, I just work for him! I don’t know what you want from me! I will tell you if he calls, but otherwise I can’t help! I don’t know!”

“Thank you ma’am. Have a nice day.”

That was all I could say. Stupid receptionist.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Paul permalink
    August 4, 2009 5:58 pm

    “Stupid” may not be the problem.

    Sounds like that particular receptionist is having an identity crisis, with feelings of inadequacy and a persecution complex, to boot. It’s always a good idea to have someone on the edge of a nervous breakdown manning your phones, right? Try calling a third time and see if they have to peel her off the ceiling.

    Just kidding…

  2. victoria permalink
    August 4, 2009 7:03 pm

    Somebody else got in trouble recently for using the word “stupid” to describe the Cambridge police. Not the most effective adjective — very inflammatory. Anyhow, you’re in good company.

  3. August 5, 2009 7:51 pm

    What a frustrating situation! However, hold some of your judgement – she may be incredibly overworked – her boss is out of the office, she probably isn’t just answering the phones… you never know.

Leave a Reply

