Skip to content

Midnight Potty Runs

August 17, 2009

This is one of my more random entries…hence the title. But this is an issue I have had to grapple with for a while.

I tend to drink a lot of water/diet coke/root beer etc….and therefore, in the middle of the night, and the human body commands, I need to go to the bathroom due to my massive intake of liquids.

Waking up in the middle of the night to make a trip to the bathroom is among the most annoying things I have had to deal with in my life.

Every single time it happens, its almost as if you are in the most comfortable position in your bed that you have ever been, and you are warm, and the blankets are cradling you just right, but in the back of your sleepy mind you know that the pain in your bladder will keep you from fully enjoying the sanctuary of your bed.

So, you stumble out, turn on the stinging, unforgiving light, squint your eyes like a victim of down’s syndrome, go to the bathroom and stumble back to your bed.

And the truth is, when you get back into bed, you’re never as comfortable as you were before you had to get up. You just aren’t. And for me, I can never fall back asleep, whether this happens at midnight, 4 AM, 6 AM or any other hour. I just can’t return to my slumber.

Midnight potty runs, why must you torture me so?

One Comment leave one →
  1. Paul permalink
    August 18, 2009 10:21 pm

    You could try a chamber pot. Or perhaps a bed pan. Otherwise, you must soldier on as we all do. Just make sure there’s a clear path to the bathroom. I stubbed my foot running into a misplaced vacuum cleaner the other night. Ouch.

Leave a Reply

