Skip to content

Exercise

August 18, 2009

I’m sure there are people who enjoy exercising. I am not one of them. Sure, I feel great afterwards, and, yes, I have the satisfaction of knowing that I did a good thing for my body…but honestly, the entire process of a “work-out” is terrible.

The sweating, the hurting, the misery, the disappointment, the forcing — the occasional crying. I feel like even the people who enjoy working out still have to force themselves outside, or on the treadmill or elliptical! People just don’t say, “Ooo, I can’t wait to wake up early in the morning so that I can run up and down hilly streets for an hour before I shower and go to work! Oh, why can’t 5:30 AM, my old, grimy running shoes and the unbearable pain in my thighs come sooner!”

I have come to the conclusion that the human body hates us. Why you ask? Well, for instance, anything that we feel tastes “good” will make us fat. Things that are rather bland is HEALTH FOOD. In addition, the body always prefers a comfy couch, a bag of potato chips and whatever’s playing on comedy central. We all know that. And we also know that that puts us on the fast track to heart failure. What is good for us? Exercise. Spinach. Non-carbonated beverages. Does ANYONE crave that? Well, let me rephrase that….does any NORMAL human being crave that? No. Put simply, they don’t.

And this is why our body hates us. Because the things that need to be done to make us feel better we have absolutely no interest in doing, while everything else is what we crave.

I hate the human body….but unfortunately, it’s all I got.

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 19, 2009 5:50 pm

    I feel ya! But I don’t think our bodies hate us… I think our brains just enjoy a little mischief 🙂

Leave a Reply

