Skip to content

Classes

September 18, 2009

What a bloody battlefield! You look at the students all around you during orientation and feel like they’re your companions, your friends. But then, registration time rolls around and the friendly faces turn away and become scowls of rivalry and competition.

I got a terrible registration time: 1:30. People started registering at 9:00, so you can only imagine how close I was cutting it when I attempted to register for the classes I was actually interested in!

I really wanted to take this class called European History: 18th century – Present, because it sounds like the most amazing thing ever. As I was prepping to click the enroll button at 1:30 on the dot, I notice that there is just one space left. ONLY ONE. Me and I don’t know how many other kids were in the same position. We all had that box checked and were really to click the enroll button at the same time. Who would come out victorious? Who would have to take a lame spanish class instead? It was all in the hands of fate at this point, as I sat tense at the computer with my finger on the mouse…waiting, preparing. The clock struck 1:29. Never has a minute been so long. Seconds were hours — it was hell.

1:30 strikes and I click the enroll button. “Processing” the computer tells me. I wait, and I see a big, red X. The lecture portion of the class was open, the machine told me, but the discussion group was closed. WHAT??

I wrote a letter to the teacher informing him of my issue. I will show up to that class on Monday and force my way in. I’m taking European History. Screw the computer — and screw the system!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 18, 2009 11:37 pm

    do it!

  2. victoria permalink
    October 1, 2009 3:29 am

    Hey, what happened? Is it something I said? Suddenly, there’s no more blog!

Leave a Reply

