Skip to content

Spring Break Day 1: Highs and Lows

March 20, 2010

The day started off splendidly. After waking up from a 17 hour sleep, I enjoyed myself a nice, relaxing breakfast. I then went out and actually jogged. I JOGGED. I ACTUALLY worked out. Now, this may seem like nothing to most people, but you don’t understand my situation. I never work out. Especially not since I’ve been to college. My days are so hectic and work-filled, that having enough leisure time to actually go outside for things other than school/journalism is quite simply just a dream. But I went jogging today, and it was simply glorious. I listened to my iPod, I jogged up and down the streets and my own slow, happy pace. The sun was shining, I got my heart rate up and I finished out the jog on a reeeeally good song. No problems here.

Even the next part of the day was lovely. My Aunt and I went to lunch at Panera and talked about college, friends, the future, and even some petty Southside gossip. I really enjoyed catching up with my Aunt. She is an unbelievably cute, opinionated and strong woman. Its crazy how, as you grow up, you start to see your family members for who they really are. When I was younger, I always just saw my Aunt as my Aunt, and nothing more. I never bothered to look deeper. My mother was infallible, as was my father, and my little sister was annoying, and I never thought twice about it. But now that I feel I’m more mature and open, I’m seeing my family members for who they are and I must admit, it’s extremely rewarding.

When I got back from Panera, that was when tragedy struck. I started to feel nauseous. I have no clue WHY I felt that way, I just did. So, instead of going out to dinner as was originally planned, I went right to bed and fell asleep. Once again, I slept from 5 to 9, and I have to say, no regrets. Now that I’m extremely well rested, let’s hope Day 2 is filled with highs, and no nausea…..

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

