Skip to content

Spring Break Day 4: HEALTHCARE!

March 22, 2010

So, today was pretty interesting. Got up, played some soccer, got back into the groove of things and, oh yeah, HEALTHCARE PASSED!!!!!!!!!

I never thought it would happen, I’m just gonna put that out there right now. Sure, there was no public option in this bill, but hey, now they can’t uninsure people with pre-existing conditions! Women no longer have to pay more! AND we’ve insured 32 million more Americans, so, I say it’s a win. And, also, we passed the Reconciliation Bill, so who knows what other liberal goodies could pop up in reconciliation!

I don’t know about you, but I watched the whole thing go down on C-Span, and I was biting my nails the whole time. It was a day filled with rage for me, as I had to listen to the idiot Republicans each get up and tell me why the bill won’t work. Basically, what happened, is each Republican lied directly into the camera about why the bill shouldn’t pass, and each lie became more and more ludicrous — until John Boehner, the Representative from Ohio, took the stand. That idiot is on par with Glenn Beck for ridiculous, lying tactics. He got up with his watery eyes looking like they were going to overflow and said that those who want to pass healthcare should be ashamed of themselves, that the passage of this bill would go against our Founding Fathers’ values, AND that if you liked your current insurance situation, you wouldn’t be able to keep it. Even the mild-mannered Democrats in the House had to start shouting out at that. The lies were so outrageous, it caused a commotion in the Chamber.

But all of that anger is worth it now, because we have passed the legislation. The thing that really gets me off is that not one Republican voted in favor of it. NOT ONE! And they’re telling US we’re not bipartisan? We didn’t need them anyways, and we made change without them. I think that’s the way it’s always going to have to be. The Democrats making change, and getting slowed down by the Republicans.

In the end, though, I’m happy. Change has come. It’s not as radical as I would have liked it to be. (Props to Alcee Hastings for giving me my high point of the House discussion, with his “I’m a radical!” speech. The man knows how to throw it down.) It’s the first step, and finally, I’m excited about the new direction in which our country’s headed.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 22, 2010 7:21 pm

    Funny how watching C-Span all day will leave you exhausted. But, damn, I really wanted to see John Boehner start blubbering…

  2. March 22, 2010 7:22 pm

    Now, on to FInancial Regulatory Reform!

Leave a Reply

