Skip to content

Emilia’s first SLAM!

July 13, 2010

Sooo, I wrote my first slam poem, and I’m planning on performing it on Tuesday, that is, a week from today. I’m pretty excited because I feel like performing a slam poem could be just about the most cathartic experience EVER. I’m just saying: it’s you getting to unload all of your problems and annoyances with society and life in verse. Does it get much better than that? Nuh-uh, man.

So, here’s my slam!:

I had a vision.

And I’m standin’ up here wishin’ that it won’t meet your derision,
‘Cause I’m not here spittin’ fiction like that preacher does for Christians,
Please just listen to my diction, ’cause I’m speaking with conviction,
Try to vibe and feel the friction ’cause then that completes my mission.

I had a vision,

that I woke up from a dream

A dream of a life, where I was just a wife
Who lived in the kitchen and kept eyein’ her steak knife
Thinkin’, maybe, one day, she’d end her bullshit strife
And buy a silent and violent one-way-ticket to her afterlife.

But the dream wasn’t fake, and I woke up to confirm:
I was a wife in a house where she called her husband sir,
This woman woke up every morning and I knew that she’d prefer
To take her toaster in the bath, she’d given Death her signature.

She couldn’t set the table one more time
Caught her reflection in the spoon and saw that she was past her prime
She was so full of hate for the choices she had made,
She resented both her children and I knew she was afraid —

Afraid of a life outside her address;
Afraid of questions without answers that made her think and guess;
Afraid to run away and make a friend called loneliness;
Afraid of all the feelings she refused to express;
Even more afraid of feelings she knew she couldn’t suppress.

And I was scared as hell, Man,

Of this vision.

And I decided right then and there to make a clear division
BETWEEN
And avoid the collision
OF
What I’m expected to do as a female,
And what I’d do if I knew I couldn’t fail.

Because this one man tells me that I should settle down,
But if I’m down, then I’ll drown in the sounds of this stupid town
And each word surrounds and pounds my mind
So that I’m reeling and I’m feeling like a ball on the rebound
And I’m searching for a meaning that’s truly profound,
‘Cause I know you don’t just see shit like that lying around.

That’s why I gotta break out — I gotta break free!
There’s a beating heart somewhere and it’s beating for me!
I’ve gotta find it and refine it so it beats in time
With the workings and the timing and the tempo of my mind
‘Cause I’ve been looking for years and I have yet to find
A heartbeat to march to, I guess my ears have been blind.

So, I had this vision
Of me in a kitchen
Suffering from an affliction of an addiction to submission
And living life under someone else’s jurisdiction
But here’s my prediction:
I’ll be the contradiction.

I’m making a resolution.
I’ll be my own Founding Father signing my own Constitution.
I refuse to bow down to the institution
That says resigning to a house is my only solution
Because to me, that sounds like my execution
And I gotta keep growing; gotta continue my evolution.
I’ll blaze my own trail, I’ll start my own revolution
And live the life I choose, not a life of persecution.

I’m gonna keep trying to be me, no matter how hard that is —
I don’t know who I am yet, but, Man, I can tell ya this:
If I lost everything but a blank canvas,
I’d draw a picture of my mind, ’cause that’s the only thing I’d miss.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Gus Hastalis permalink
    July 13, 2010 12:23 pm

    Gus gives this a thumb’s up!

  2. Nikki Michaels permalink
    July 13, 2010 1:09 pm

    Emilia, this is awesome!!

  3. Kirk permalink
    July 13, 2010 1:11 pm

    holy……

    emilia you just affected my entire being. my hair was raised, my eyes were watering, my heart was pounding.

    gold.

  4. Guhin permalink
    July 15, 2010 9:32 am

    I like the things you do, this very much included

  5. July 16, 2010 11:13 am

    God I love you!! Where are you going to be performing? I’ll be there!

  6. July 27, 2010 9:53 am

    This was very fine, indeed

Leave a Reply

