Skip to content

The simple joy of a bouncy ball

July 23, 2010

You guys, I almost forgot how absolutely satisfying and heart-warming a good bouncy ball is.

I was searching around my house for a specific movie (Lord of the Rings: Return of the King, in case you’re wondering) and as I was looking through a drawer, of course, I didn’t find the movie, but I did see an old, old, old bouncy ball. I think I got this one at Chuck E. Cheese, you know, back when people actually went to Chuck E. Cheese. Remember those times? Ah, good times.

Anyway, it was one of those bouncy balls that looks like a soccer ball, and it was larger than the average bouncy ball.

And since I had been looking for the movie for all of five minutes, I decided it was time I took a break — and spent some quality time with my long-forgotten bouncy ball.

I bounced it once.

I paused. I bounced it again.

I kept bouncing and bouncing and suddenly I felt really happy and I bounced it again. I walked through the house bouncing the ball around. I suddenly realized how happy I felt, and then I made the connection that the happiness flowing through me was directly connected to my bouncing of the ball.

The ‘pat’ sound my little treasure made as it landed perfectly in my palm after the perfect bounce made me smile. The resonating ‘thud’ that came from the ball once it hit the ground was so small and yet so right. And once it hit the ground, it bounced so high up in the air! All I had to do was place my hand directly in front of myself and there it landed! So perfect. So bouncy. So soothing.

That’s what made the experience so great: it’s just such a soothing thing. There’s nothing to worry about, it’s not difficult and hey, don’t you just feel really cool when you bounce the ball reeeeeally high up and you can catch it one-handed? I mean, personally, if I see someone do that, I immediately think, “Damn, that’s hot.” Maybe that’s just me. I sure as hell hope it isn’t, though.

Of course, after five minutes of bouncing around, I resumed my search for the movie. (Did you forget about the movie? I had at that point, too!) But at that point, I had made sure I put that bouncy ball in my purse. I’ve decided that I need it with me at all times.

After all, you never know when you’ll need a nice, relaxing bouncy break.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Gus hastalis permalink
    July 24, 2010 5:58 am

    Yeah well I’ve got a bouncy ball that sparkles and lights up when u bounce it, so there!

Leave a Reply

