Skip to content

Greatest pump up speeches, in my book

July 26, 2010

Over the weekend, I watched the Lord of the Rings trilogy — for the umpteenth time. I’m not gonig to pretend like watching those films isn’t an emotional experience for me, because, well, it definitely is.

 When Frodo feels as though he cannot go on because the weight of the ring is too much for his innocent Hobbit frame, I also go weak at the knees! When Aragorn longs to see his Elven love Arwen at her immaculate home in Rivendell, I feel his heartbreak! When Gimli and Legolas overcome the prejudices the Elf and Dwarf races have set up against each other and manage to feel the heartwarming bonds of friendship, my heart, too, feels a warming sensation.

And, when Gandalf, mounted on horseback and leading an army of Men  into the greatest battle Middle Earth has ever seen, utters words to raise his  men’s spirits and banish their fears, I, too, feel the passionate call to battle, and I want to raise my fists in the air and fight at his side for honor, for Rohan, for the race of Men!

But now I am sidetracked … just a bit.

This post is not just about the Lord of the Rings (that post is coming later).

There are many great perfect movies with battle scenes in them: Braveheart, 300 and Avatar are only a few. Besides battle scenes, these movies share another thing in common: they have awesome, awesome, awesome pump up speeches.

But I’m not just singling out battle movies here — oh no, don’t get me wrong. Fabulous pump-up speeches can be found in sports movies far and wide — in a sense, I’m covering all my bases here. Heh.

So, without further ado, keep your Kleenex at the ready, and prepare to cry:

*These are in no particular order of awesomeness*

1. William Wallace reminds his men of the power of freedom in Braveheart.

2. Aragorn refuses to back down outside of the Black Gates in Lord of the Rings: Return of the King.

3. Coach Herb Brooks’ speaks to his hockey team before they play the Russians in Miracle.

4. Dilios recounts the story of King Leonidas and the 300 Spartans whose courage and strength held off hundreds of thousands of Persians at the gates of Thermopylae. Here, outnumbered once again, the Greeks prepare to fight, but this time, in the name of Leonidas and the brave 300!

5. Jake Sully rallies the Na’vi’s spirits to prepare them for the battle to defend Pandora from the greedy hands of Men.

6. Coach Tony D’Amato tells his boys what it means to be on a team in Any Given Sunday.

And please, tell me the speeches I’ve missed! I mean, come on, we all sure as hell know there are more than six!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 26, 2010 11:52 am

    Fabulous! Loved ’em all.

    You may want to check out Denzell Washington’s speech to his players at Gettysburg from “Remember the Titans”. Football and the Civil War. Can’t beat that.

  2. July 26, 2010 5:44 pm

    ahh emilia, i love the speeches in 300! my favorite one is queen gorgo’s address to the senate. i can’t find a decent video of it, but she would make a killer closing attorney. and nobody could beat her rebuttal of stabbing that guy.

  3. July 27, 2010 9:49 am

    So… You must have been listening to NPR’s Story “Summer Movies – Best Pep Talks” too!
    http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=128696650
    But both you and NPR missed my absolute favorite: Jack Black’s “The Man” Speech and then the sequence teaching rock to the kids from School of Rock.

    • emiliab9291 permalink*
      July 27, 2010 10:27 am

      Robbie! I gotta say, I haven’t listened to that NPR segment, but I could not agree more on your School of Rock choice. SUCH a great moment!

  4. December 26, 2012 5:35 am

    Every weekend i used to visit this website, for the reason that i want enjoyment, as this
    this web site conations actually pleasant funny information too.

Leave a Reply

