Skip to content

Heat Wave

August 25, 2010

LA is in the throes of a massive heat wave … and I’m chillin’.

Well, I’m not really chillin’, per sé, but I’m really psyched about this heat. This is the temperature I live for.

People far and wide (within LA County) are running in-doors, turning up their air conditioners and trying their best to die as silently and coolly as possible. But not me. When I look outside and can literally see the heat rising from the sidewalk, I think to myself, “My, this is quite the perfect occassion for an outdoor stroll!”

I’m not sure which I understand less: why people hate hot temperatures so much, or why I like them so much. Either way, when it comes to heat waves, the bigger the better for me!

For instance, today, at a temperature of 109º, I made sure that I got outside as soon as possible to go for a walk. I grabbed some walking shoes, my iPod, and I was out the door before you could say, “heatstroke.”

And why not?

The moment I stepped outside, it was almost as if I had just returned from war, and the sun was running up to greet me for the first time in years! I felt like the sun jumped right into my arms … and all over the rest of my body, for that matter. The sun and I were in a warm (I guess, in this case, scalding) embrace, and as I walked down the sidewalk in brilliant, shining light the sun laid out for the day, my whole body tingled with a sensation of life! Being out in that heat makes me feel so alive! So energetic! So felicitous! (Sorry about the throwback word, but I’ve been reading a lot of Jane Austen recently, so, deal.)

Sure, as I was walking around outside in the heat I got a bunch of incredulous looks from people who just don’t understand (or who, perhaps, are a touch more sane than I am), but I didn’t care! The less people outside, the more one-on-one time I got with my big hottie up in the sky. So, no complaints here!

With the world so lit up with the sun’s love like this, who am I to run inside and shut out the giver of all this affection: Mr. Golden Sun? When someone shines their love on me like this, I frankly think it’s rude to rebuff it altogether. I instead, go out to meet that love with even more love: my own! People shouldn’t so cold … literally!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 25, 2010 4:42 pm

    I like the heat, too. But over 100 degrees is a bit much. Pretty soon we’ll all have to go to Mars to cool off.

  2. Gus hastalis permalink
    August 25, 2010 5:05 pm

    Love mr. Sun. And love u too!

  3. Kirk permalink
    August 26, 2010 7:26 am

    This is AWESOME.

  4. August 27, 2010 3:50 pm

    This heat is HORRIBLE!! We can’t possibly be related 🙂

  5. September 23, 2010 1:54 pm

    boom chica wowow

Leave a Reply

