Skip to content

The sacrifices of college

October 3, 2010

Over the summer, I did a lot of jogging. It was great, it was fun, I felt all healthy and crap afterwards — it was nice. But, in college, I don’t have time to remove myself from all the action of school for the two hours it takes to go through the ordeal of a work out. Well, either I don’t have the time, or I don’t want to find the time. Okay,actually, I’ll just be honest: working out is not a pastime in which I like to indulge.

But I have a lot of friends who do work out. Which, you know, is cool….for them. It’s great! I’m glad they do that. Good for them.

But the only thing that’s worse than not working out, is being the ONLY one not working out. For example, downing your third bag of Sun Chips while watching Full House reruns becomes infinitely less fun when you’re alone downing three bags of Sun Chips and watching Full House reruns. It immediately takes a turn from fun to depressing.

I’ll be at lunch, and people will be talking about how they’re training for a half-marathon, or a triathlon, and how they got up early to go run 9 miles or some shit like that. And I’ll pipe in and say, “Yeah, this morning I got up, reached over, and hit the snooze button on my alarm clock like, three times!  Nice arm work-out there…”

Once, I told myself I’d wake up at 8 am and go jogging. And then, you know what happened? At 8 am, I woke up and said, wait, it’s fuckin 8 am! So I went back to bed. Just, you know, rule of thumb: nothing in the world should start before 11.

Sidenote: classes in college that start before 11 a.m. are absolutely cruel and unusual. For a country that says we don’t torture, I see 9 a.m. classes and become extremely skeptical as to our country’s resolve on that matter. Moving on …

On one particular occassion, my friend was talking about how she, you know, ACTUALLY woke up at 8 a.m. to go running. She said this to me, and I’m going to quote verbatim: “Yeah, today’s run was hard. The first three miles were really painful, but around mile four I think I really hit my stride.”

My jaw dropped. I dropped the cinnamon roll I was previously gripping with conviction.

What? First three miles?

What in the hell would compel you to keep running miles two and THEN three if mile one was a bitch? This actually happened to me last once: I went outside to try to run, and then I remembered that I had a mosquito bite on the bottom of my foot that would have itched really badly if I ran on it — so that was it for me. I was done. Game over, case closed.

My same friend who fought bravely through those first 3 miles, mind you, is the same friend who was really excited to run a triathlon. But wait, it gets worse — she wasn’t just excited to run it. Her doctor told her that she had strained her achilles tendon or soemthing like that, and it meant that she couldn’t run the damn thing. So she came to me, crying, telling me she wouldn’t be able to do it. I honestly didn’t know what to say. And I didn’t

Me ... on a good day.

think it would help much if I said: “Honey, if somebody came up to me and said, ‘Hey, I signed you up to run a triathlon,’ my knee jerk reaction would be, ‘Oh, really? Wait, just a second, wait right here. I’m going to go cry into a bathtub, and then drown you in my tears, alright? I’ll be back in a few. Don’t go anywhere!'” I refrained from saying that.

And I do realize that my lack of physical discipline probably makes me an inferior human being. And you know what? I’m fine with that. Well, no, I’m not really fine with it. But I don’t care enough about it to actually get outside and go jogging. I went jogging once this year in college — and that just about does it for my next two quarters here.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Gus Hastalis permalink
    October 3, 2010 5:35 pm

    Gus says physical exercise is important. Gotta do it.

  2. October 4, 2010 1:35 pm

    That was a very funny post. But something tells me you’re more of an athlete than you let on.

  3. October 4, 2010 7:48 pm

    hi!This was a really fine topic!
    I come from roma, I was luck to come cross your topic in baidu
    Also I get much in your theme really thanks very much i will come again

Leave a Reply

