Skip to content

Is there even any change at all?

February 1, 2011

I can change my location by sitting down in ONE SPOT and steering —
But that changes nothing inside.

Try to ignore the fact that this picture is most definitely from a scene in the Shawshank Redemption

The world can go from green to brown to blue to gray and I haven’t moved,
And I haven’t changed,
And I’ve been everywhere and gotten nowhere.
What is technology but an excuse to turn your brain and body off?

But if I can stand in one spot when the rain comes,
I can turn my head up and face the wet bullets one by one,
and when the sky is spent, I’ll have earned everything.

I haven’t been everywhere, but I’ve been somewhere, done something, experienced change.
I’ve been soaked in it.
I feel its weight as I continue to stand in the same spot on my resolute legs with a mind resolved to solve the problems and drain the depression of the right here and now.
Screw there.
Here’s gotta come clean before I can bounce and face the rain there.

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 2, 2011 11:03 am

    🙂

Leave a Reply

