Skip to content

Obama’s Perspective During State of the Union

February 3, 2011

Keep your eyes open, keep your eyes open,
Oh, my lids are getting heavy, but I’ll keep my eyes open.
Look at the people, look at the people,
No seats are empty, keep looking at the people.
Read the words that come through the prompter
I’m tired, the words get blurry, my voice now gets softer.

But no! Emphasize this, sensationalize that.
Just like you did in ’08 – reuse that!
Jobs, businesses, family, the US,
We need to work hard, we need more, not less.

Remember the mother who wrote you a letter
About how she wishes her sons’ lives were better.
Her words moved me so, and I shouldn’t forget her –
I’ll think of her now, but in two weeks? Eh, whatever.

Wait, that’s not the aura I should assume,
I’m Commander in Chief, I should own this room!
People need help, they need me to presume
Over their world, boys and girls, generation of the baby boom:
I’m speaking for you, and my words should ring true.
I’m tired, I’m wiped, but I’m speaking for you!

Come to the television and listen to me!
Feel passionate about living in the land of the free!
It worked in ’08, it should work now, I believe
We need hope, we need change, from sea to shining sea.

Take a breath, applause, shake hands, shake hands.
I look in their eyes and see – they’ve got other plans.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 4, 2011 12:16 am

    So freaking good. Emilia you’re a beast of beats.

  2. February 4, 2011 2:30 pm
  3. February 8, 2011 4:34 pm

    Always good to try to see things through another’s eyes.

Leave a Reply

