Skip to content

New York, New York!

June 3, 2011

Once upon a time, there was a little girl who was obsessed with dinosaurs and the Power Rangers. She had impeccable taste.

Then, this little girl got really into a band called Green Day and simultaneously discovered black eye liner. She came to think of herself as a teenager during this period.

This teenager played soccer and eventually hurt her knee because the rest of the kids on the field just couldn’t handle how badass she was. She limped off the field, picked up a newspaper and sprinted full-speed into the rest of her life.

Oh, and by the way, she thinks of herself as a woman now.

(DISCLAIMER: This person is me!!)

This summer, I will continue to pursue my journalism dreams in New York City — The Big Apple, The City that Never Sleeps … The Place Where Sex and the City Was Filmed.

And, this summer, this city will also come to be known as, “The City in Which Emilia Spent an Entire Summer, and Tried Really Hard Not to Look Like a Tourist.” I’ll be writing for The New York Press and The Villager, and I’ll try to have a social life in my spare time.

I’ll document my summer with anecdotes, photos and videos of my adventures. I bought a book called The Cheap Bastard’s Guide to New York City (which I now think was written specifically for me), and I will endeavor to complete as many of the cool things in it as possible.

Now, you may be wondering a few things:

How will an LA girl survive in Manhattan? Will New Yorkers mistakenly treat me as an equal? Will angry cab drivers scream profanities at me in a different language as I nervously cross the busy streets? Will I get lost on the subway? How many times will I get lost on the subway? Will I ever ride the subway and NOT get lost?

Or, will I rock the city harder than an apocalyptic meteor shower?

I’ll let you know. Tune in and find it out!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 3, 2011 4:55 pm

    You’re gonna rock NYC, E! In fact, it will soon come to be known as NYCE.

  2. Gus permalink
    June 4, 2011 10:18 am

    Now that’s a blog I wanna read. LOTS of video. And pictures. Of you! Exciting!

  3. June 7, 2011 8:26 am

    Ahhhhh! So exciting!! Can’t wait to read all about it!!!!

  4. Caitlin permalink
    June 14, 2011 8:15 pm

    LOVE IT.
    WEEEERK IT GURRRRLL

Leave a Reply

